Paul’s Movember Plus

IMG_3067

Crikey, doesn’t it look awfully dark?!

The Consortium‘s Paul Flurry updates us on his Movember With a Twist challenge…

“On Saturday I performed my challenge of a minimum 10k run and 50 mile cycle ride.

I set off at 05:15 on the 1st leg of 26 miles cycling from Trowbridge to Swindon,  arriving in Swindon at 07:50. After a quick change and with my running shoes on off I went to do the 1st 5k run, finishing in time to line up with the rest of the very festively dressed Swindon park-runners and off I went again for the 2nd 5k.

With the full 10 kilometres in the bag there was just time for quick coffee and bacon butty (well refuelling is important!) and with another quick change, off on my bike I went again for the 2nd leg of cycling back to Trowbridge.

IMG_3068

Paul looks remarkably fresh in view of the tale which ensues below…

The route to Swindon was fairly good and I made reasonable time but it was only now on the way back when I fully realised why. I was now facing a strong headwind and after several hills and open ground I was feeling the pain. As I hit 40 miles my body and my wife who was kindly roadside waiting for me said enough.

But my challenge was a minimum of 50 miles and I don’t like failure so on I went and I even took a detour which pushed the total miles covered to 65. I gracefully stopped at that point as my knees were very painful and I didn’t want to risk injury.

I would like to thank everyone who sponsored me, brought cakes or entered the moustache sweepstake. Your donations are what matter to both the Movember and Wiltshire Air Ambulance charities and ultimately are what drove me on to complete this challenge.

The total raised so far has now passed the £300 mark so thank you to you all and Merry Xmas.”

Wow, what more can we say Paul after your fab report, except take up your good wishes and say “Merry Christmas” to all Community Link-Up readers. See you in the New Year!

This entry was posted in Appearance, Charity Fundraising, Cycling, Movember, Running, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.