Movember With a Twist

Cycle helmet, check. Early 'tache growth, Check. Paul Flurry is shaping up well for his Movember challenge.

Cycle helmet, check. Early ‘tache growth, check. Paul shows he’s shaping up well for his Movember challenge.

Movember’s proved a popular fundraiser in the past few years. For 2015, The Consortium‘s Paul Flurry is set to prove there’s more to his challenge than growing a moustache…

“I plan to complete a personal Duathlon of running 10 kilometres immediately followed by a minimum 50 mile cycle ride. Fitness being considered I plan to attempt to extend this to 100 miles.

During the last 3 years prostate cancer has had a huge impact upon my family. We thought the worst was behind us but life’s not always that kind. After losing my wife’s Father and then her brother being diagnosed and treated all looked good. Then her brother announced he was being retested and is currently under close observation.

I suffered a serious cycling accident in April this year when a van took me off my cycle and I am still being treated by doctors for ongoing issues.

Until 2 weeks ago I had not rode a bike since the accident so taking on a challenge is primarily for charity but also a personal motivation as I refuse to lie down and simply give in.

Please help support me and the nominated charities by sponsoring me in this challenge. This year all the money collected by myself will be split 50/50 between the Movember * charity and Wiltshire Air Ambulance (WAA). I have chosen to split the money collected with the WAA as had my accident been any worse I may well have required their assistance.”

Good luck Paul, we look forward to hearing about and seeing the progress with your ‘tache and Dualthlon efforts!

* = the link goes to the Movember’s moustache page instead of the usual Home page as this year there’s an annoying flashing set of images shown on the Home page – Ed

This entry was posted in Appearance, Charity Fundraising, Cycling, Hair, Running, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.