Joyce Gets Running to the Beat

Leukaemia and Lymphoma Research logoRowan House‘s Joyce Conlan has news of her fundraising endeavours…

“I am entered into the 10km ‘Run to the Beat’ race on 13th September 2015 at Wembley Park, London.”

Joyce is fundraising for Leukaemia and Lymphoma Research,  and has a poignant reason for running, as she explains on her Just Giving page:

“I am running this race to challenge myself and also to raise money for this important charity because in total I know of 3 people to date who have suffered with blood cancers. My Mum died from Lymphoma, then my friend Martin (‘Judi’) lost his fight against Leukaemia only a couple of months after my Mum. My boyfriend’s Mum was also diagnosed with Myeloma who has gone through treatment and is currently doing well.

I am running for this charity because I want to help in a way I can. I hope one day that I will get to see great results from the research being carried out.”

For those of you who don’t know, ‘Run to the Beat’ promises to be a 10k run with a difference as music plays a central role, both during the race and afterwards. I wonder which music Joyce might choose for her run?

NB The charity Leukaemia and Lymphoma Research will change its name to Bloodwise from September 2015.

Good luck Joyce, and be sure to let us know how you get on!

This entry was posted in Charity Fundraising, Running, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.