Jo’s Update: Challenging Days and Another PB

FSSC‘s Jo Cooke brings us her latest update on her half marathon challenge for 2015…

…”I’m now 7 half’s into my challenge… I’ve completed 3 more since my last update in June and have another looming over the holiday weekend, a nice local one in Halifax which means no travelling!!

My 5th half in Liverpool was the Rock n Roll half, great atmosphere with local bands playing around the course which really did give you lots of motivation; I ran this one with my cousin Sarah so with her help and the motivational bands I got another PB!!

Then there was the Lytham Half… now this is not called the Windmill Half for no reason, very strong winds made it a challenging day so I was just chuffed to get home in under 2 hours and felt that I really deserved the fab medal!!

Then the 7th half was on the Isle of Man, this was a great day as my cousin Sarah joined me again and also it was quite a family occasion with me being cheered on by my sister, brother-in-law, 2 nephews and also the Aussie part of my family were visiting too… another challenging day with the route being a bit more hilly than I’m used to with the half marathon distance, but another completed within 2 hours, only just though!!”

To recap on Jo’s runs so far:

  • Jan 18th –  Inskip – 1:58:17
  • Feb 15th –  Liversedge – 2:04:08
  • Mar 29th  –  Liverpool – 1:58:44
  • Apr 26th – Blackpool – 1:56:59
  • Jun 14th  – Liverpool Rock n Roll – 1:56:13 [latest PB – Ed]
  • Jul 19th   – Lytham Windmill – 1:58:51
  • Aug 9th   – Isle of Man – 1:59:17

“So all going well the next one is in Halifax [30th August – Ed] and my 9th half will be the Great North Run [13th September], still to confirm the 10th which will be in Oct/Nov time…

As ever, a big thanks to all of those that have donated so far; with your generosity and support I’m at a fantastic £1,194 so have gone over my target of £1,000 which is absolutely brilliant, I’m still overwhelmed with the support you’ve given so far and will need this even more now as weirdly it’s getting harder rather than easier with each one completed!”

This entry was posted in Charity Fundraising, Running, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.