Joanne’s Running Challenge

Jo's JustGiving page says this is a refreshing and rehydrating beer!

Jo’s JustGiving page says this is a refreshing and rehydrating beer!

We have news of our first year-long challenge for 2015! FSSC‘s Jo Cooke took up running last year and like Mark Tuttle in 2014, has decided to turn it into a personal challenge. Here are her own words about what she’s intending to do…

“Until a year ago I’d struggled to run more than 5k on a treadmill!!  I’m now a proud member of the Stainland Lions Running Club and with their help and some determination I’ve managed to come 3rd in my division for last year – I didn’t realise how competitive I was!!

This year I want to tie in my new love of running with raising some money for a charity that is close to my heart, Cancer Research. In December just past it was the 10th anniversary of my Dad passing away from oesophageal cancer.

As this anniversary came closer I started to think about what I could do to raise some money. I had thought I could do the Great North Run, but entry to this isn’t guaranteed and it is in September. This seemed too far away and it is only one run, then some madness got into my head that I could do 10 half marathons across the year, one to mark each year since my Dad passed away.”

Jo’s plan is to run at least 10 half marathons from January 2015 all the way through to December. We believe January’s is completed already as she was due to run in the Inskip Half near Preston yesterday. Her 2nd half marathon is booked – for 15th February at Liversedge, which is local to the FSSC, and she’s also entered into the ballot for the Great North Run.

“My aim is to raise as much money as possible for Cancer Research, I’ve heard recently that as many people survive cancer than die from it now, which is fantastic news. I want you to help me make this statistic even better!  I’ve set up a JustGiving page to make donating easy and I would be really appreciative if you would sponsor me for this really worthwhile cause.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress!!”

Looking forward to hearing how you got on yesterday Jo and good luck for your next half marathon in February!

If anyone is looking to follow in Jo’s footsteps – even if it’s just one half marathon – here’s a useful looking list of half marathons in the UK for you to find one that suits.

This entry was posted in Charity Fundraising, Running, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joanne’s Running Challenge

  1. Mark Cashmore, Chief Executive says:

    Good luck Jo – that’s one down 9 to go…

Comments are closed.