Eugene’s Seaside Run

Eugene Howson Eugene Howson is putting on his marathon running shoes again! Last year it was Paris; for 2014 he’s decided to take the sea air at Bournemouth on Sunday, October 5th. This is the second year for the event, so it’s a relatively new marathon.

Eugene tells us why he’s running again this year…

I felt the challenge to run a coastal marathon event would be different, and it’s also an opportunity to raise funds for Macmillan Cancer Support. I believe they do a super job in providing practical, emotional support and they also push for better cancer care.

I would appreciate your valuable support in helping me achieve my fund-raising target of £250 via my Justgiving page.

I have been training hard these past 6 weeks for this event and as part of my training I have to do a final long run before tapering off. For my final long run I ran from home to work (Reading to Slough – 24 miles) on Thursday 11th September.

The LTN/DMD staff ran a sweepstake to guess how long it would take…

… it took me 2 hours, 57 minutes and £56 was raised.

Best of luck Eugene! Your chosen charity is a timely reminder that it’s Macmillan’s World’s Biggest Coffee Morning this Friday (26th September)! If any location is planning to support this year’s event, we’d love to hear from you and see your photos. Remember, a post about your event on Community Link-Up adds a further £20 to your fundraising 🙂

This entry was posted in Charity Fundraising, Running, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eugene’s Seaside Run

  1. Mark Cashmore, Chief Executive says:

    I hope yesterday’s run went well Eugene. Judging by your last long run, you were on for a decent time.

Comments are closed.