From France to Boom

We kick-off the month with news of an amazing trip! Dan Crockford, in Export Admin at Bertrams has set himself quite a challenge – I wonder, is this the longest cycle ride we’ve seen so far on Community Link-Up?

The Story

From France to BoomI will be cycling from Dax, France, to the Boom Festival in Idanha-A-Nova in Portugal over a period of 16 days starting on the 19th of July 2014. The trip is roughly 650 miles in total. The terrain will be something completely alien to me (being a simple Norfolk boy, I am not a hill climber!) and I am expecting the weather to be completely different to what I am used to as well. These 2 things make this a particular challenge for me, as well as the fact that I will be camping and I will be carrying all the equipment I will be using on my bike. This is also the first time I will have done anything of this sort, and I am looking forward to doing something new and exciting.

About Boom Festival

Boom logoBoom Festival is a festival of music and art set on the side of the lake of the Geopark Naturtejo in the Idanha-A-Nova principality of Portugal. The area has a rich cultural history, natural beauty and diverse fauna and flora. The festival’s outlook is one of environmental sustainability and generosity, so I decided to keep to this theme by doing as much of the travelling as possible by means that have a neutral environmental impact. And in order to keep to the generous virtues the festival promotes, I decided to try to raise as much money for those in need at the same time.

Redearth education logoAbout the Charity, Redearth Education

I am raising money for the Redearth Education charity, which provides learning resources for children and schools in Uganda. Redearth Education was established in 2006, following the previous work of the founders in Masindi.

They work alongside the District and Municipal Education Departments and with other local partners.

Redearth provides continuing professional development for teachers in order to develop good practice in teaching and learning. Redearth was registered in Uganda as a non-government organization in 2007.

If you would like to sponsor me, please follow the link to my JustGiving page.

Map showing the rough idea of the route I will be taking…

cycle route

That looks an amazing trip Dan! Good luck with your challenge and looking forward to hearing your Traveller’s Tales 🙂

This entry was posted in Charity Fundraising, Cycling, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From France to Boom

  1. Mark Cashmore, Chief Executive says:

    Cycling is proving a popular fundraiser this year, but I believe combining it with a festival is a first.

Comments are closed.