Anne’s Surprise Marathon

Anne parnell London marathon running gearAnne Parnell from The Consortium is a keen fun runner, who 4 months ago never dreamed she would find herself running in Sunday’s London Marathon. She tells us how it came about… 

I have been a ‘fun’ runner for quite some years doing just enough so I can have the odd guilt free doughnut or glass or wine. I have always been in awe of people who run marathons but didn’t think I was capable.

Elizabeth Fitzroy offered a place at this years London Marathon to my running club. I entered the ballot because I wanted to support the charity, not expecting for one minute to get the place. Getting selected was a mixture of excitement and terror having not even run a 10k for over 4 years.  I will be 50 this year. What a great way to mark my half century!

Elizabeth Fitzroy transform the lives of adults with learning disabilities, helping them live more independently at home and in the community.

When I was about 12/13 I volunteered at Whitegates, one of the homes run by Elizabeth Fitzroy charity, as part of a Girl Guide badge. Since then I have done some much in my life, married, had children, moved away, travelled the world. I am now living back near Whitegates and I see that some of the people I met all those years ago are still at the home. They are so dependent on charitable donations and I am proud to be running for them.

Not only is Anne proud to run for Elizabeth Fitzroy, they’re very proud of her too! Here’s what they tweeted yesterday:

Anne has raised £695 so far. Her JustGiving page is still open for more…

About smithsnews

Communications Executive
This entry was posted in Charity Fundraising, London Marathon, Running, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anne’s Surprise Marathon

  1. Mark Cashmore, Chief Executive says:

    This perfectly demonstrates how much difference supporting a smaller, local charity makes and how much the appreciation is amplified. Well done Anne.

Comments are closed.