Guest Post: Sport Relief Inspires

We have a rather special guest post today. Stewart McGeoch, our bike-ride regular from  Milton Keynes has sent us this inspirational story…

Stewart and James McGeogh in their cycling gear

Stewart and James

Hello I am James McGeoch and I’m 10 years old. I wanted to do something for Sports Relief. I thought it would be nice to do a bike ride to spend time with my Dad as we both like cycling. I wanted to raise money for people less fortunate that me.

James looks worried

James looks a little worried

Dad and I went out in the car and planned a route together. I had only done 18 miles before this ride but love cycling so wanted to be challenged. We set off at about 12.15pm the weather was ok in the morning but started raining just after we left home.  There were some hills on the way round and only two of them were really challenging. The top speed I managed was 24mph but that was going downhill. We finished our ride in 3hrs. At the end of the bike ride I was soaking wet as we rode through a hailstorm, rain and at times it was windy too.

That's better!

That’s better!

I wanted to raise £50 to start with but because of all the lovely friends and family I have managed to smash the target and raised £135 which I am really proud of.

When I woke up the next day my legs were aching but Mum said I couldn’t have a day off school.

I’d really like to keep training now and aim to join Dad on one of his Help for Heroes big battlefield bike rides in the future.

Well done James! Not only are you a great cyclist, your reporting skills are top-notch too! Your dad must be very proud of you 🙂

About smithsnews

Communications Executive
This entry was posted in Charity Fundraising, Cycling, Flagship Fundraiser, Guest Post, Sport, Sport Relief. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Post: Sport Relief Inspires

  1. Mark Cashmore, Chief Executive says:

    I’ve enjoyed all the Sports Relief reports immensely, but this one deserves my comment as it’s outstanding. Well done James on such superb effort in your cycling and providing us with a very well written report. Let us know when you join your dad on a Big Battlefield ride.

Comments are closed.